Celebrations

Yesterday my family and I celebrated my 45th birthday a week early, because of family schedules.  We went to Don Pablo’s Mexican Restaurant in Bloomington.  Then we came home and had ice cream and cake.  The food was very good. 

It was great to get together and have some fun for a change.  Yesterday morning I started applying for Social Security Disability.  That is really hard for me, because I don’t know who I am outside of work.  It’s been 2 weeks since I quit my job and I’ve felt lost.  I’m also having some abnormally heavy bleeding and my doctor is doing an ultrasound in St. Paul on Thursday.

I decided to become a Christian again and I went back to church last Sunday.  The pastor is talking about resetting our lives.  Last week he talked about purpose and this week he talked about identity.  Our identity is based on being children of God, not on jobs or human relationships or money or anything else, he said.  I needed to hear that.  Next week he will be talking about our place in the Kingdom of God.  I have also been receiving prayer from the Prayer Team, friends, and my women’s small group at church and that is comforting to me, because I’ve been having panic attacks.

I am filling my days with reading, praying, going to classes at the workforce center, walking with my mom, and playing Sims.  I had an attack of writers’ block but it’s gone now. 

4 thoughts on “Celebrations

Leave a Reply

