Harvest

In the pagan and agricultural years, we are entering the time of harvest.  The pagan holiday we celebrate now is Lammas, the first fruit and grain harvest. 

In my life I am also at a time of harvest as I leave my 3M job today for an uncertain future.  I believe I have done a good job and will be missed by my team.  My 3M boss bought me flowers at the Farmer’s Market on campus yesterday, which was very nice of her.  Every day for the past 13 1/2 months I have gone in, endeavoring to serve 3M customers well and make the gods, goddesses, and ancestors proud.  My co-workers and bosses have said how much I will be missed.

It’s bittersweet.  I am looking forward to a calmer life but I will miss the people I’ve worked with for over a year.  I will have to adjust to living on savings for a while unless I apply for Social Security disability or get another job. 

However, this is a good ending to this job and I’m grateful for it.  Apparently I’ve sown a good crop and am reaping a good harvest.  Please pray for me as I find out what comes next.  Thanks.

10 thoughts on “Harvest

  1. Hi Lisa,
    I’ve had numerous jobs throughout my life. I’m called a renaissance man now, after learning one new trade after another. I’m retired from it all, and not working anymore. But then, I wasn’t working when I had those jobs, LOL Kidding of course!!! I guess, in my case, it was one job closing after another. My favorite job lasted five whole years, and now I am a professional woodworker in all aspects of the trade. Let’s just say I’m handy to have around the house, and it’s the core reason my wife has kept me lo these many years (1970 to present – anniversary coming up 9/12.) 42 years with the same gal – go figure! God is good. One prayer request for you noted on my calendar. Smiles, Don (The eagle guy)

    • Thanks for being the first to comment, Don, and for praying for me. I too have had numerous jobs–the longest lasting 9 1/2 years. I still miss it. This is an ending but also a new beginning. I’m sure your wife loves you for other reasons–happy anniversary!

      • Thanks! If I wasn’t such a crabcakes, she might enjoy me more. I think I let my ‘half cup empty – glass’ show too much. She is the glue and positive one in our family that holds us all together! LOL I’m getting better! Cheers, Don
        P.S. Now pray for me! :-} D.

  2. Change is part of life both bitter and sweet. And it makes things so much more interesting. Treasure your memories, draw upon what you’ve learned and experienced… then get ready for the next adventure Lisa. I’m sure you’ll find one and it will be interesting.

Leave a Reply

