The Nine Noble Virtues and Me

These are part of Heathenry, abbreviated NNV.  They are:  Courage, Discipline, Fidelity, Honor, Hospitality, Industriousness, Perseverance, Self-Reliance, and Truth.  I try to live by them each day.  I think about how I can apply the NNV to my life.  I find them challenging, especially Self-Reliance and Courage.  There is no concept of sin in Heathenry, but dishonor.  The NNV were created by Heathens around the 1980s after reading documents from older times (the Eddas and sagas).  We don’t have the Ten Commandments or anything like that.  There are other lists of virtues too depending on the Heathen group.

Currently I am facing another health challenge:  because of symptoms, I need to have a colonoscopy on the 3rd of February.  So I’m summoning Courage to get through it, and Perseverance and Discipline to go through the prep (which I hear is pretty awful, worse than the procedure).  Wish me luck!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s