Living with chronic illness

Good morning!  Today’s blog entry is going to be about living with chronic conditions.  I have asthma, bipolar disorder, GERD, Barrett’s esophagus, irritable bowel syndrome, high blood pressure, and high cholesterol.  Most of the time I manage pretty well with them and lead a relatively normal life.  I try to schedule appts with my 4 health care professionals in the evenings, but much of the time that’s not possible and I need to take time off work.  I hope to develop a work style with flexible hours so I can accommodate my conditions.  Meanwhile, I am grateful to my team for letting me have time off, and making other accommodations.

Sometimes I have flareups.  The latest is that I got a cold this week which is getting worse and I’m heading to the doctor this afternoon, after an appointment with a new gastroenterologist this morning.  I plan to bundle up–it’s cold out there.  I took the day off and made the doctor appointments for today.  I hope to be feeling better soon.

One thing that has helped me is massage.  I joined Massage Envy in Apple Valley last month; membership includes one massage each month with my monthly fee.  Massage has virtually eliminated some back pain that I had and I am sleeping better as well.

Have a great day everyone!  More later.

 

Leave a Reply

